Microgaming Restricted Countries 2017

As one of the largest online software providers in the world, Microgaming has the capacity to offer its online games to players from nearly every corner of the world. Unfortunately, Microgaming does not offer its services to all countries throughout the globe, as the company has taken the method of rather being safe and secure and instead, keep away from countries that forbid gambling online or leave the laws unclear.

It is far easier to provide the countries that won’t be able to enjoy Microgaming titles than those countries that can. The biggest country found on Microgaming’s blacklist is definitely the United States. The passing of the Unlawful Internet Gambling Enforcement Act or UIGEA had devastating repercussions for the relationship between Microgaming and US players. This caused Microgaming to firstly block residents from numerous states followed by withdrawing from the American market completely back in 2006.

In the UK, after years of discussion, debate and industry consultation, the new Gambling, Licensing and Advertising Bill was presented to the UK parliament in May 2013. This newly introduced bill brought about important and significant changes to the regulation of gambling activities online in Great Britain. In May 2014, Royal Assent was received and the bill was formally named Gambling (Licensing and Advertising) Act 2014. The most drastic change was that all operators who wish to advertise or offer gambling services to the UK will need to apply for a specific license from the Gambling Commission. In December 2015, new 15% tax was levied for all bets taken from UK players and caused most Microgaming operators to not apply for a license.

Microgaming was also responsible for providing their software to South African Microgaming online casinos such as Volcanic Gold Casino and Piggs Peak Casino. Unfortunately, both casinos stopped accepting South African bets in September 2011. Other Microgaming restricted countries include Algeria, Afghanistan, Benin, Bangladesh, Belgium, Bulgaria, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Cambodia, Central African Republic, China, Chad, Cote d’lvoire, Cyprus, Cuba, Denmark, Equatorial Guinea, Djibouti, Ethiopia, French Guiana, France, Gabon, Greece, Gambia, Guadelupe, Greenland, Haiti, India, Hong Kong, Poland, Estonia, Togo, Thailand, North Korea, Philippines, United Arab Emirates, Sudan, Swaziland, Tongo, Uruguay, Suriname, Iran and Mongolia.